Nature & Outdoors: Jan 7, 2015 – Jan 13, 2015

NYC Parks
nyc.gov/parks
Connect with NYC Parks
FacebookTwitterYouTubeInstagram
Support NYC Parks

Nature & Outdoors:

Jan 7, 2015 – Jan 13, 2015

Welcome to the first edition of the Nature & Outdoors newsletter. Through this newsletter, we will share free and low-cost events that explore New York City’s great outdoors. You’ll find out about upcoming exciting programs and events that are designed to give you a better look at the wild side of NYC, and learn more about the plants and animals that make the city their home.

You are receiving this newsletter because this email address had been subscribed to nature or outdoors-related newsletter in our old mailing list. If you would like to unsubscribe, or edit your subscription to sign up for a different type of newsletter, please click on the links at the bottom.

Citywide Highlights

Outdoors in New York

Outdoors in New York

From lantern night hikes to nature photography, find out about all the great programs the Urban Park Rangers have planned for this winter.

Spot Seals

Spot Seals

Did you know that winter is a great time to spot seals in the New York Harbor? Take this free tour at Orchard Beach to see some.

Upcoming Events

Saturday, January 10, 2015

Birding: Eagles 9:00 a.m.

Nature’s Endurance: Talk and Walk 9:30 a.m.–11:30 a.m.

Light Hike: Winter Tree ID 11:00 a.m.

Sunday, January 11, 2015

Winter Birding 9:30 a.m.–10:30 a.m.

Seal Exploration 10:00 a.m.

North Manhattan Parks Super Hike 11:00 a.m.

Fitness Hike (vigorous) 11:00 a.m.

Central Park Tour: Southern Welcome Tour 2:00 p.m.–2:45 p.m.

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Central Park Tour: West Side Stories 12:00 p.m.–1:30 p.m.

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Central Park Tour: Northern Welcome Tour 12:00 p.m.–12:45 p.m.

Saturday, January 17, 2015

Finding Your Way: Maps and Compasses 1:00 p.m.

Nature Exploration: Hunter Island 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 18, 2015

Finding Your Way 11:00 a.m.

Birding: Winter BIrds 11:00 a.m.

Garden and Conservatory Highlights Walk 2:00 p.m.–3:00 p.m.

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

Central Park Tour: Southern Welcome Tour 12:00 p.m.–12:45 p.m.

Saturday, January 24, 2015

Central Park Tour: Southern Welcome Tour 12:00 p.m.–12:45 p.m.

Ranger’s Choice: Pioneering Skills Building with Ropes and Wood 1:00 p.m.

Nature Exploration: Salt Marsh Nature Trail 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 25, 2015

Birding: Winter Waterfowl 11:00 a.m.

Central Park Tour: Northern Welcome Tour 12:00 p.m.–12:45 p.m.

Friday, February 6, 2015

Astronomy: Jupiter at Opposition 6:00 p.m.

Astronomy: Jupiter at Opposition 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, February 14, 2015

Great Backyard Bird Count 11:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Saturday, February 21, 2015

Birding: Eagles 9:00 a.m.

Wednesday, February 25, 2015

NYC Compost Project hosted by Queens Botanical Garden: Teacher Wormshop 6:00 p.m.–8:00 p.m.

Saturday, February 28, 2015

Lantern Night Hike 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, March 14, 2015

Ranger’s Choice Nature Photography Winter Woods 11:00 a.m.

Sunday, March 15, 2015

Ranger’s Choice: Camp Cooking 101 1:00 p.m.

Saturday, March 21, 2015

Ranger’s Choice Nature Photography Urban Parks 1:00 p.m.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Article: