City and State NY Honors the Bronx Power 50

The influential City & State magazine will complete its Borough 50 Series with a final stop in the Boogie Down Bronx. The Borough 50 Series ranks the most powerful community leaders from each borough in a special print issue of City & State magazine.

City & State will honor the Bronx Power 50 leaders next Tuesday, December 20th, 8:00 AM – 10:00 AM, at the Bronx Museum of the Arts, 1040 Grand Concourse, Bronx, NY 10456. Ticket information here.

The Bronx Borough 50 showcases the borough’s business, education, political and community leaders. The Bronx Power 50 honorees will be profiled in the December 19th print issue.

The Bronx Power 5o includes many names familiar to Bronxites, such as former borough presidents Fernando Ferrer and Adolfo Carrion, educators Stephen Jerome (Monroe College) and Joseph McShane (Fordham University), business leaders Nunzio Del Greco (Bronx Chamber of Commerce), Wilma Alonso (Fordham Road BID) and John Bonizio (Metro Optics), labor leader George Gresham (1199SEIU), access cable TV host Gary Axlebank (Bronxnet), and political fixer, Stanley K. Schlein, Esq.


The breakfast event will include a “Power Panel” which will provide a diverse perspective on the most important industries in the borough – Higher Education, Technology, Energy and Arts & Culture. Power Panelists include:

Jennifer Raab, President, Hunter College (moderator)

Camille Joseph, Vice President, Government Affairs (NYC & NJ), Charter Communications

Larry Scott Blackmon, VP of Public Affairs, FreshDirect

2016 Honorees:

Wilma Alonso, Executive Director, Fordham Road BID

Marianne Anderson, Administrator, Pelham Bay Park

Brian G. Andersson, Director of Community Outreach, Woodlawn Cemetery

Juan Antigua, NYC Political Director, Working Families Party

Gary Axelbank, Host, Senior Producer, BronxTalk, BronxNET (Public Access Television)

Michael Benjamin, NY Post Editorial Board

Larry Scott Blackmon, VP of Public Affairs, FreshDirect

John Bonizio, General Manager, Metro Optics

Nancy Carin, Executive Director, Business Outreach Center Network

Dana Carotenuto, Chief of Staff, State Sen. Jeff Klein’s Office

Adolfo Carrion, EVP, Stagg Group

Marlene Cintron, President, Bronx Overall Economic Development Corp

Lorraine Cortés-Vázquez, Senior Vice President, Corporate Relations and Government Affairs, EmblemHealth

Jose Luis Cruz, President, Lehman College

Paul Del Duca, Chief of Staff, Bronx Borough President’s Office

Nunzio Del Greco, President & CEO, Bronx Chamber of Commerce

John DeSio, Communications Director , Bronx Borough President’s Office

Luis Diaz, Bronx County Clerk

June Eisland, Founder, Eisland Strategies

Fernando Ferrer, Co-Chairman, Mercury

Ethan Geto, Partner, Geto de Milly

Lewis Goldstein, Vice Chair/Board Member, Bronx Democratic Party/Stonewall Democrats of NYC

George Gresham, President, 1199 SEIU

Laura Guerriero, Publisher, Bronx Times

Dr. Thomas A. Isekenegbe,, President, Bronx Community College

Dr. Stephen Jerome, President, Monroe College

Dianne Johnson, Director for Community Outreach Services, Catholic Charities Community Services

Camille Joseph, Vice President, Government Affairs (NYC & NJ), Charter Communications (formerly Time Warner Cable)

Mouhamed  Kaba, Community Associate/Bronx Organizer, Mayors Office for Immigrant Affairs

Joseph Kelleher, President, Simone Metro Properties

Sandra Lobo-Jost, President, Northwest Bronx Community and Clergy

Jeff Lynch, Assistant Commissioner, NYC DOT

Joseph McShane, President , Fordham University

Dean Meminger, Criminal Justice Reporter, NY1

Charles Moerdler, Partner, Stroock & Stroock & Lavan

Howard Bruce Neufeld, President , Bronx Jewish Community Council

Anthony Perez, Executive Director , Bronx Democratic County Committee

Jennifer Raab, President, Hunter College

Anthony and Paul Ramirez, Founders, Bronx Beer Hall / Mainland Media

Carol Robles-Roman, President & CEO, Legal Momentum

Raul Russi, CEO, Acacia Network

Steven M. Safyer, President, Montefiore Medical Center

Stanley K. Schlein, Attorney

Dierdre Scott, Former Executive Director, Bronx Council on the Arts

Marricka Scott-McFadden, Vice President, Mercury

David Shuffler, Executive Director, Youth Ministries for Peace and Justice

Marissa Soto, Attorney, Bronx Democratic County Committee

Hector Soto, Attorney, Hostos Professor

Avi Weiss, Rabbi in Residence, Hebrew Institute of Riverdale

Print Friendly, PDF & Email