60th Annual National Puerto Rican Day Parade Kicks Off at 11AM Sunday

The 60th Annual National Puerto Rican Day Parade will take place on New York City’s Fifth Avenue, Sunday, June 11, starting at 11am.
The parade has been marred  by uproar over the controversial selection of ex-FALN leader Oscar Lopez Rivera for the inaugural “National Freedom Hero” award. Several sponsors, including Goya Foods and JetBlue, pulled out of the event. Statewide elected officials, including Governor Andrew Cuomo and US Senator Chuck Schumer, have declined to participate in today’s parade as march participants.
National Puerto Rican Day ParadeThe nation’s largest cultural celebration with over 1.5 million spectators this year features:
  • Gilberto Santa Rosa (Grand Marshal)
  • Iris Chacón (Godmother)
  • Yandel (Trailblazer Recogtition in Music and Arts)
  • Julio Monge (Trailblazer Recognition in the Performing Arts)
  • Bobby Cruz (Trailblazer recognition in Music)
  • Jeimy Osorio (All-Star Honoree)
  • Cucco Peña (All-Star Honoree)
  • Laurie Hernández (Athlete of the Year)
  • Ozuna (Rising Star)
  • Rolando Alejandro (Rising Star)
  • Ana Isabelle (Ambassador)
  • Modesto Lacen (Ambassador)
  • Ektor Rivera (Ambassador)
  • Allan Villafaña (Ambassador)
  • Ricardo Luis Villarini (Ambassador)
  • Ismael Rivera, Jr. (Ambassador)
  • Shalim Ortiz (Ambassador)
  • Elijah Font (Prince) *Scholarship winner
  • Yamilet Cortes (Princess) *Scholarship winner
  • Christian Alexis Milian (Duke) *Scholarship winner
  • Amber Ali (Duchess) *Scholarship winner
Also scheduled to march:  Homigueros Township Mayor Hon. Pedro J. García Figueroa, New York City Council Speaker Melissa Mark Viverito, Puerto Rico Senator Rossana López León along with CHICAS of Alejandra Foundation, New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio, Bronx Borough President Ruben Diaz Jr., New York City Public Advocate Letitia James, New York City Comptroller Scott Stringer
2017 Parade Theme: “Un pueblo, muchas voces” (One Nation, Many Voices)
2017 Puerto Rico Hometown Dedication: Hormigueros 
2017 Honored State Side Community: Lorain & Cleveland, North East Ohio
2017 Special Awareness Campaign: Anti-bullying, Puerto Rico’s financial & humanitarian crisis.
2017 Special Tributes & Recognitions: National Baseball Team (Team Rubio), Gilberto Gerena Valentín & Ramón Veléz, Jones Act & 100 years of U.S. Citizenship for Puerto Ricans
Honorees not able to march due to scheduling conflict:
  • Mónica Puig (Athlete of the Year)
  • Lana Parrilla (Parade Queen)
  • Walter Mercado (Lifetime Achievement)
Fifth Avenue
From 44th Street to 79th Street
New York, NY 10075
Print Friendly, PDF & Email