Old Timer’s Day Set At Yankee Stadium


2019 Hall of Fame Inductee Mariano Rivera to make Old-Timers’ Day debut
The New York Yankees today announced the roster of former Yankees who will be on hand at the 73rd annual Old-Timers’ Day on
Sunday, June 23, at Yankee Stadium — the 11th Old-Timers’ Day at the current Yankee Stadium.

Mariano Rivera, who will be inducted into Cooperstown this July as the first player unanimously elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame,
will be making his Old-Timers’ Day debut. The native of Panama amassed an all-time Major League-record 652 career saves. A lifetime
Yankee (1995-2013), he was a 13-time All-Star and a member of five World Series championship-winning Yankees teams (1996, ’98-
2000, ’09).

Along with Rivera, the Old-Timers’ Day roster will also feature fellow Hall of Famers Whitey Ford and Reggie Jackson, with current
Yankees Manager Aaron Boone and Hitting Coach Marcus Thames. Former Yankees players and current YES Network broadcasters
David Cone, John Flaherty and Paul O’Neill will also take part in the festivities.

Joining the Hall of Famers and former Yankees on the field will be the widows of five legendary Yankees—Helen Hunter, widow of Jim
“Catfish” Hunter; Jill Martin, widow of Billy Martin; Diana Munson, widow of Thurman Munson; Kay Murcer, widow of Bobby Murcer;
and Jean Stottlemyre, widow of Mel Stottlemyre.

Also making their Old Timers’ Day debut are Jerry Hairston Jr. — who was acquired by the Yankees at the 2009 trade deadline and
played a role in bringing the 27th World Championship home to the Bronx — and Jason Grimsley — who appeared in 118 games as a
member of the Yankees bullpen from 1999-2000.

Fans are asked to be in their seats by 11:30 a.m. for Old-Timers’ introductions with the traditional Old-Timers’ game to follow. All of the
pregame celebrations will be aired exclusively on the YES Network. The Yankees will then host the Houston Astros at 2:05 p.m., also
airing on YES. All gates will open to ticket-holding fans at 10:00 a.m.
List of those Scheduled to Attend

(first-time Old-Timer) Jesse Barfield Aaron Boone Scott Bradley Dr. Bobby Brown Homer Bush Chris Chambliss David Cone Johnny Damon Bucky Dent Al Downing Brian Doyle John Flaherty Whitey Ford Jason Giambi Jason Grimsley
Ron Guidry
Jerry Hairston Jr.*
Charlie Hayes
Helen Hunter
Reggie Jackson
Scott Kamieniecki
Don Larsen
Graeme Lloyd
Hector Lopez
Jill Martin
Tino Martinez
Lee Mazzilli
Ramiro Mendoza
Gene Monahan
Diana Munson
Kay Murcer
Jeff Nelson
Paul O’Neill
Joe Pepitone
Lou Piniella
Willie Randolph
Mariano Rivera*
Mickey Rivers
Luis Sojo
Jean Stottlemyre*
Marcus Thames
David Wells
Bernie Williams

Print Friendly, PDF & Email