49th Precinct Breakfast

49th Precinct Breakfast Honoring the Police Officers and Community Leaders

By Robert Press

Friday morning was the 32nd Annual 49th Precinct Fellowship Conference hosted by the 49th Precinct and the 49th Precinct Community Council. Over one-Hundred people were in attendance at this live event as the city, state and country emerge from the 2020 Pandemic. 

Councilman Mark Gjonaj, Assemblywoman Nathalia Fernandez, Deputy Inspector Andrew Natiw of the 49th Precinct, and Joe Thompson the President of the 49th Precinct Council spoke with Community Affairs officer James Graham as the Master of Ceremonies. Auxiliary Police Officer Award to Mr. Sylvester Heggie, Police Administrative award posthumously to Ms. Giacomina, and Explorer of the Year to Carlos Alonzo.


Detective Jay Sturdivant was named Cop of the Year, and he thanks everyone saying that he loves his job, and the 49th Precinct.


Mr. Al D’Angelo received the Tom Twyman – Citizen Award as Community Board 11 Chairman, and President of the Morris Park Community Association.


Mr. Joe Kelleher received the Business Fellowship Award as President of the Bronx Chamber of Commerce, and Vice-President of Simone Developers.


Deputy Inspector Andrew Natiw had some bad news for the audience, saying that he has neared the end of his term as precinct Commander of the 49th Precinct having been the CO now for over two tears the normal time one is in charge of a precinct house. 
A group photo with members of the 49th Precinct Muslim community, Police Officers, Elected Officials, and Award Winners. 
Print Friendly, PDF & Email