49th Precinct Fellowship Conference Breakfast

49th Precinct Fellowship Conference Breakfast

By Robert Press

Friday May 20th was the 49th Precinct 33rd Annual Fellowship conference Breakfast, after a two year hiatus due to COVID. While the awards were still mostly the same, there were many changes in the people up front. While Joe Thompson was still the 49th Precinct President, the new commanding officer of the 49th Precinct Captain Gareth Kentish was away at training, so Executive Officer Captain Gross stood in for him. Honoree, former Commanding Officer now head of the Manhattan North unit Deputy Inspector Andrew Natiw also was at training. As for the elected officials, New Bronx Borough President Vanesa Gibson and New 13th City Council member Marjorie Velazquez were on hand for the event hosted by the 49th Precinct and 49th Precinct Community Council. 

Honorees included Cop of the Year – P.O. Aiden Murphy, Tom Twyman – Citizen Award Brandon Maccino, Business fellowship Award – Jacobi Medical Center, Auxiliary P.O. Award – APO Champ Miller, Police Administrative Aide Sherry Williams, Explorer of the year – Nadia Medina, and special recognition to Silvio Mazzalla – Keith Ramey – and Sgt. Christopher Pasalacqua. P.O. James Graham was the Emcee of the event. 49th Precinct Council Recording Secretary Grace Lavaglio sang the National Anthem. 



Ms. Grace Lovaglio sings the National Anthem. Emcee P.O. Graham, State Senator Jamaal Bailey, and Councilwoman Marjorie Velazquez are in the background.

Bronx Borough President Vanessa Gibson spoke about her short time as Borough President, some of the many issues that she has faced, and thanked the men in blue for being there when they are needed. Captain Gross stands between the elected officials.

A special award was given to the widow of Silvio Mazzella for his dedication to the Precinct Council, Community Board, Morris Park Community Association, and for the dedication to the community.
Jacobi Medical Center received the Business Fellowship Award for their outstanding work in the medical field, the SUV unit, and other community involvement. Jacobi CEO Jordana Bailey holds the award, with staff members of the hospital including John Doyle.

Brandon Maccino Principal of PS 83 received The Tom Twyman Citizen Award.

Nadia Medina received the award as the Explorer of the year. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email