Incumbents Romp To Victory: Two New Assembly Members

The 2014 election is now history at least in The Bronx. All incumbent members of Congress who represent parts of The Bronx were re-elected.  Those re-elected include Congressmen Charles Rangel, Congressman Eliot Engel, Congressman Jose Serrano and Congressman Joseph Crowley. All four will continue to fight for funds for their districts and for The Bronx. All are Democrats. The Democrats will remain the minority party in the House of Representatives. The Republicans have regained control of the US Senate.

In races for New York State Senate all incumbents were easily re-elected. Senator Jeff Klein, presently Temporary President and Majority Coalition Leader, fended off opposition on the Republican, Conservative and Green Party lines. He was re-elected with over 75% of the vote. In his victory statement he thanked the voters of the 34th Senatorial District for their support. He pledged to continue to fight for the working class, for paid sick leave for all and for affordable housing. Also re-elected to the NYS Senate were Senators Jose Serrano Jr., Ruth Hassell-Thompson, Ruben Diaz Sr. and Adriano Espaillat. At this point we do not know if the Democrats will take control of the New York State Senate.

The Bronx delegation in the New York State Assembly will remain all Democratic. Two new members will be joining the incumbents. Those are Latoya Joyner and Michael Blake. Both look forward to taking their seats in Albany come January. They join inbumbent Assembly Members Carmen Arroyo, Mark Gjonaj,Jose Rivera, Luis Sepulveda. Marcos Crespo, Victor Pichardo, Carl Heastie and Jeffrey Dinowitz.

It appears that all three propositions on the ballot have been accepted by the voters of New York State. Governor Andrew Cuomo, Comptroller Tom Dinapoli and Attorner General Eric Schneiderman easilly won re-election for the next four years.

With the 2014 elections behind us all eyes are now going to focus on the 2016 election. Already several candidates have expressed interest for running for President. It will be an interesting two years. There are no major elections in 2015.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email